CERN — The European Laboratory for Particle Physics

Working Procedure

        A Membership Committee is set up by the Collaboration Board Chair, in agreement with the Management. It is ensured to have representatives of all the regions as defined in Appendix 3 of the constitution. The CB chair is a member of the committee. The Spokesperson and Deputy(ies) are usually invited to the meetings.

The Committee is an advisory body on collaboration issues, mainly on the new membership applications and membership monitoring. It also provides information on questions raised by and relevant to the Collaboration and prepares recommendations to the CB for approval.

Its tasks include the review of new membership applications, their scientific interests, their expertise, their resources and their commitments to participate in "Tasks of Common Interest". From this is creates a recommendation to the CB for endorsement. The follow up and monitoring of the institutes and groups contributions to the tasks of common interest is another task of the Membership Committee. The list of "Tasks of Common Interest" is prepared by the Management and endorsed by the CB.

The Membership Committee will be renewed after every CB chair election. It reports to the CB.

Twiki page (Committee internal)

Meeting Agendas (LHCb internal)


        Institutes interested in joining LHCb should in the first instance contact the Spokesperson directly. For committee matters, contact the chair of the committee.


The current members of the Membership Committee are:

Monica Pepe-Altarelli (Chair) July 2023 - December 2024
Marie-Hélène Schune January 2023 - December 2024
Tomasz Szumlak January 2023 - December 2024
Barbara Sciascia January 2021 - December 2024
Zhenwei Yang January 2021 - December 2024
Abolhassan Jawahery January 2021 - December 2024
Olivier Schneider (CB chair) December 2020 - December 2024
Former Chairpersons                       Former Members